Image

Will God Ever Give Up on Me?


Questions-Answers-Depositphotos_10449015_m-2015-624x624

Will God ever give up on me?

 

The scripture that leaps to mind is:

2 Timothy 2:11-13 NLT
This is a trustworthy saying:
If we die with him, we will also live with him.
If we endure hardship, we will reign with him.
If we deny him, he will deny us.
If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.

Every believer struggles with things in their life that threaten to devour their soul. For many years, I felt like I was not living for God well. I didn’t know how to follow Jesus but I was determined to follow Him. I can remember feeling that I was building a huge wall between myself and God by the sins in my life. I felt as though each time I sinned, I was laying a brick in this wall and that at some point I would find myself unable to find my way back to God.
However, I now know that walls are easily destroyed by the forgiveness of God. He sees us differently than we see ourselves. God looks at us and sees us as we will be and not as we are.
When you become a parent, you are aware that your child doesn’t measure up. He has to grow into maturity. He has to become who he will become. A parent’s job is to guide each child through the rough and tumble process of growing into maturity. It is hard. But a parent doesn’t give up on his own son or daughter— neither quickly or easily.  Instead, they tend to always look for reasons not to give up on them.
In the Old Testament, God gave an odd command:

Deuteronomy 21:18-21 NLT
“Suppose a man has a stubborn and rebellious son who will not obey his father or mother, even though they discipline him. In such a case, the father and mother must take the son to the elders as they hold court at the town gate. The parents must say to the elders, ‘This son of ours is stubborn and rebellious and refuses to obey. He is a glutton and a drunkard.’ Then all the men of his town must stone him to death. In this way, you will purge this evil from among you, and all Israel will hear about it and be afraid.

Now what would a Father or Mother do to avoid this? Most anything. Why? We have a LOT invested in our children. Our whole lives are wrapped up in them.
I believe the Law was not written for man to obey but to reveal who God is. The book of Jonah tells me how God views even those who are stubborn and willfully rebellious.
God spared the city of Nineveh and explained His decision to Jonah by raising up a vine.

Jonah 4:6-7, 10-11 NKJV
And the Lord God prepared a plant and made it come up over Jonah, that it might be shade for his head to deliver him from his misery. So Jonah was very grateful for the plant. But as morning dawned the next day God prepared a worm, and it so damaged the plant that it withered…
But the Lord said, “You have had pity on the plant for which you have not labored, nor made it grow, which came up in a night and perished in a night. And should I not pity Nineveh, that great city, in which are more than one hundred and twenty thousand persons who cannot discern between their right hand and their left — and much livestock?”

Jesus tells us that God watches over us and has numbered the hairs on our head. He knows where we are and everything we are going through. He loves us. He is fully committed to us. He is not going to easily give up on us. God has much invested in you.
We can lose our way sometimes. God does not quickly come to judgment. He does not quickly or easily reject those who fall into sin.  As a pastor I have had to learn that even when people fall into gross sin, I need to be patient and longsuffering with them if I am going to imitate God.
God does not take those He loves to be stoned unless they have become so stubborn and rebellious that even when the child is disciplined harshly, they do not change their ways.
As long as you do not deny Him, He will never deny knowing you and He will remain faithful to you even when you are not faithful to Him. He loves you that much.


Ken Van Horn is pastor of My Father’s House Family Church at 501 Broad Street in Cusseta, Georgia and author of the book: “A Greater Reward,” which is available from Amazon on Kindle. Questions for him should be asked in the form below. You may also contact him through Facebook or follow him on Twitter.

 

