A Call


Great Awakening

This week I went to Panama City Beach with my wife and our son (yes it was cold and I was under-dressed). In the morning, before everyone else was awake, I got up, pulled out my iPad and began to read the Scriptures.
I love those times in the morning. It is in those times I most sense the presence of God.
As I listened to the waves pounding the beach outside, I felt the call of God to seek Him—not as I have done in the past but as the Old Testament prophets did that they might hear what God is saying to His people.
I recently was reading and stumbled across a passage in Ezekiel that stunned me:

Ezekiel 13:3
3 This is what the Sovereign Lord says: What sorrow awaits the false prophets who are following their own imaginations and have seen nothing at all!’ NLT

It is here that I realized that the prophet was once called a ‘seer‘ for a reason. A true prophet is speaking and proclaiming what he has seen from God. His “word of the Lord” is not mere words but what he has seen and heard in the Lord’s presence. We have many who are claiming to be prophets who are not and many who are prophetic but begin operating in presumption and prophesy out of their own imaginations.
Elisha did not. Elisha called for a musician. He sought the Lord until the power of the Lord came upon him and he saw what the Lord wanted to do and then he proclaimed to the kings of Israel and Judah what he saw in the Lord’s presence (see 2 Kings 3:12-19).
Not every man or woman of God is a prophet but the principle remains. We study so we can clearly see and hear the word of the Lord and know what is of God and what is coming from ourselves.* Without this study, we can easily be deceived and led astray by Satan’s devices.
But by itself, study is not sufficient; it makes for knowledgeable lawyers and poor ministers. The teacher needs to hear what the True Teacher is saying. The pastor needs to bring the comfort and encouragement that the Great Comforter is offering. The evangelist needs to bring the testimony that the True Witness is bringing. The prophet needs to proclaim the Word of the Lord that the Spirit of Prophecy is revealing. The apostle must be carried along to where the Wind of the Spirit is going and carry the fire of His Presence and the breath of His Spirit to the places he is being sent.
Only in this way can the Helper help. We must be doing the work of God (not our own) for the Spirit of God to lend His aid.
Jesus did only what he saw His Father in heaven doing. He spoke only what He heard His Father in heaven saying. He carried about the power of the Lord’s presence and then proclaimed that greater works than these shall WE do. Can we do the works of Jesus apart from seeing and hearing what Jesus heard and saw?
The seeking precedes the power. We need to see what God is doing and hear what He is saying. This only comes in His Presence. It is time to seek the Lord.
The stirring I felt in that chair was a summoning from the King. But I knew as it came to me in a still small voice that this was the same voice that Isaiah heard and it was the call to all those who will:

Isaiah 6:8
Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?”
I said, “Here I am. Send me.” NLT

The world needs faithful messengers of God—not more people speaking out of their own wisdom or knowledge. We have enough talking heads; we need hearts on fire to stir the ashes and revive the flame that GOD may send a great light into the world that will pierce the darkness and melt the hardness of men’s hearts.

Yet the stirring felt deeper. The stirring and the call was not just to seek His Presence but to say with my life “It is written about me in the scroll, ‘I have come to do Your will.'” I felt the Spirit calling me to live and abide in His Presence. Perhaps then, I will see An Awakened Church and an America revived in righteousness and justice. I have been part of the problem; I do not want to be part of the problem any longer, but instead part of the solution.

About the Author

Ken Van Horn has been a pastor for over 25 years–only two years of which was full-time ministry. He has worked as an electrical contractor, editor, probate judge, web developer, consultant and  recently completed “A Greater Reward” based upon what the Holy Spirit revealed to him while serving as a judge concerning the work of justice and the imminent Judgment Seat of Christ.

He is currently developing a start up church in Cusseta, Georgia and does itinerant ministry when available.

You can follow him here or on Facebook, or Twitter.

Re-posts are greatly appreciated. Our only means of spreading the articles is our readers sharing with others what has spoken to them.

