Obergefell v. Hodges


Facebook 2 Chron7

First, I am so thankful that I am no longer a probate judge–responsible for issuing marriage licenses. I’m not sure I could issue the license–ever–much less perform the ceremony. I am thankful that my name will NEVER appear on one of those worthless documents and I am thankful that the Supreme Court of Georgia will not have to remove me from office.
Second, I feel much the way I felt on 9/11. I’ve never been one who thought the rapture would come before it got bad. I just hoped I wouldn’t live to see it. I no longer have that hope. But if 9/11 didn’t wake up the Church, will this? For myself, I cannot imagine life ever being ‘normal’ again.
Third, I am so angry–so incredibly angry. These five ‘justices’ have trampled on something I count sacred and holy–what they have done is blasphemy. I am offended beyond words. It is taking almost everything I can muster to show restraint.
Fourth, I am tired of hearing appalling things. I feel like Job–watching yet another messenger arriving, each one bearing worse news than the one who came before. I want to be a part of a country that respects and honors God. This news makes me want to flee–to find some place in this world where my grandchildren can grow up in peace–and yet I cannot. I want to hide. I am appalled and astonished, yet I must remain where God has placed me and do what He has told me to do. I must suffer with my nation as Jeremiah suffered with his.A Greater Reward 240x400
Fifth, my heart aches. It simply aches. I ache knowing that the reason America is here now is because Americans chose this when they chose their leaders. The downside to democracy is that we get the government we deserve (we are all in this together). Americans elected the Presidents who appointed these justices and the Senators who confirmed them. When I was a judge, it was this that disheartened me the most–realizing the people had corrupted themselves and no longer wanted justice. They only wanted to be left alone to do as they pleased.
Sixth, the justices and not even the sheeple of America are the heart of the problem; we–the Christians in America–are the problem. As long as everyone and everything else is the problem, there are no solutions–only problems. When we accept that the Church in America has failed to be salt and light–that WE ARE THE PROBLEM–only then can we begin to change (just like the alcoholic or drug addict–until he acknowledges he has a problem, he can never turn things around). Only when we acknowledge that we are the problem will we begin to humble ourselves and pray and seek God and CHANGE and only then will HE hear from heaven and forgive us our sins and heal our land.
Seventh and last of all, I believe. I turn my eyes from what I see to what I cannot see. I look to God and His quiet strength fills me. All this evil, He will make good. He is good and He will make it good. He mocks the wicked. He laughs them to scorn. “Why do the ungodly rage and plot stupid things? Do they think they can oppose God and His anointed one?” This cannot and will not stand.
Belief is more than my thinking though… it must express itself through my actions to really be faith. The prophet Jeremiah pleaded with his nation to turn back to God. Even as destruction drew near, the Word of the Lord came to him saying, “I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and bless you–to give you a hope and a future.” And yet Jeremiah walked the devastated streets of Jerusalem–stepping over the bodies of these same people–weeping over them.
I know I must proclaim the Word of the Lord–the results are not up to me and are out of my control. But I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep me against the evil day. I have to settle in my heart that I will proclaim the Word of the Lord. Whether it leads to a Great Awakening in the Church and America or persecution, imprisonment and death, I will proclaim Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today and forever.

Obergefell v. Hodges was originally published on Joshua Plan for Success

